A stupid run, a great run and a free run

I’ve been feeling really good since my 20 mile run on Saturday. My legs didn’t hurt much and I was able to get around without too much soreness. I’m pleasantly surprised by this.

The Stupid Run

Yesterday I got busy doing things around the house and didn’t do my run until late last night. I thought about it a lot throughout the day, but I kept telling myself I had time and kept putting it off. Around 9:30 last night I was upstairs on the computer and realized I needed to run my mile for the streak. I was in my shorts and a T shirt, but didn’t have any shoes on. I’m not sure why I just didn’t go get my shoes.

I decided to hop on the treadmill barefoot and run my mile. I said to myself, “It’s only for a few minutes. It will be okay. I’ll go at a slow pace. It will be fine.”.  I set it at a slower pace than normal, but thought it was going to take too long. I upped the pace to 10 mins/mile to get it over quicker. At the half mile point I raised the pace to 9 1/2 mins/mile and did that for almost the rest of the mile. I turned it back down to 10 mins/mile to finish it off.

I thought I did pretty good until I stepped off the treadmill and felt pains in my toes. I had worn blisters on my toes. What an idiot! They aren’t terribly bad, but I can definitely feel them. It was my 70th day of streaking and it was a stupid run.

The Great Run

Besides the blisters, I’ve been feeling really good about my running since Saturday’s long run. Today was supposed to be a cross training day with a streak mile, but I haven’t signed up for classes this week. I got a call from Tim saying there was a spot open for a class in the morning, so when I got home I decided to run my 5 miles that I was going to run tomorrow.

I made a music playlist for the marathon next month and I thought I’d test it out today during the 5 miles. Let me tell you…It was awesome! I was moving! I felt great! The music was thumping and it really made me move. I finished in just under 43 mins at 8’35″/mi. I wasn’t trying to run fast, but I couldn’t help it. It was a great run.

The Free Run

I have been contemplating running a half marathon in my hometown for about a month. It’s Fit Right Racing’s Piney Hills Half. I just wasn’t sure about running a race during my marathon training, but I spoke to a couple of people and they said it would be fine. I went back and forth about it, but I saw they had a drawing on their facebook page for a free entry to the race if you liked them and signed up for their newsletter, so I figured I’d take a shot.

Well, last week I got an email saying I won a free entry to the race! Now I don’t have an excuse. I have to run it. 🙂 I really am looking forward to running it. It will also take the place of my last long run of 16 miles. Hopefully my family will come out to support me. I’m sure they will. A race in my hometown will be fun and you can’t beat it being free!

This entry was posted in Diabetes, Health & Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A stupid run, a great run and a free run

  1. spinrunsew says:

    Yay–congrats on the free entry!!

  2. Pingback: 100 days of running | blood, sweat and…

Leave a Reply

