Tomorrow is my 20 miler

So, it’s been a couple of days since I last posted. I feel really bad about that. I really want to be accountable for posting daily. I will do better.

I’ll give a quick run down of the last couple of days.

Wednesday I had a RealRyder/TRX workout. I had a higher sugar than I normally have starting the morning and it stay up through the workout. I didn’t give my all during the workout, but I did work hard. I also ran my streak mile after my workout. My sugars weren’t terribly high, but did have one over 200 during the mid-morning. It came down by lunch and stayed good for the rest of the day.

Yesterday I woke up with a slightly low sugar of 69. It was a scheduled 5 mile run day and I ran out time to run before I needed to go to work. My sugars were good throughout the morning, but got high at lunchtime (209). I was planning on running my 5 miles during my lunch break, so I ate a little. I did not give myself any insulin for what I ate. I ran my 5 miles at a good pace of 9’10″/mile. I did feel a little funny towards the end and when I got home it was 66. I got dressed for work and ate again. I did bolus for this meal and reduced my insulin intake like the doctor ordered.

My sugar rose by 4pm to 334 and stayed high up to before dinner at 330. I bolused for both high blood sugars and my dinner. I fell asleep and did not check before bed.

This morning my sugar at wake up was 65. It came back up shortly and I had breakfast and went to work. I usually have my workout on Friday, but I did not go because I felt like I should rest up for tomorrow’s 20 miles. My sugars stayed in the upper 100’s throughout the day and I’ve been eating a lot of carbs to prepare for my run.

I forgot about running my streak mile since I usually run it after class. I remembered it on our way to dinner. Great! I was going to have to run after dinner. Well, I ate a good carb loaded dinner, came home and got on the treadmill for a quick streak mile. It felt pretty good even though I was running on a full stomach.

My runs this week have been good. I’ve felt good and my sugars have been pretty good. I’m a little anxious and nervous about the 20 miles in the morning. I’m hoping my sugar stays up and I get through it without any issues. Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Diabetes, Health & Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tomorrow is my 20 miler

  1. Brittany says:

    Good luck tomorrow!!

  2. Good luck and hope your sugars are steady and up!

  3. steveygaddis says:

    good luck out there Curt…be safe w/ that run. Lets us know how it goes.

  4. spinrunsew says:

    Even though you may be already finished, good luck!!

Leave a Reply

