Get the funk out!

Well, I have been in a funk the last couple of days. I just want you to know, it’s gone. I went to bed earlier than normal and woke up a little later than usual. I felt refreshed. I wasn’t going to let a bad run get me down.

I’m sure the way I felt was like how Tom Brady or Matt Ryan felt Sunday. They were excited for the game. They were ready for the game. They came out playing hard. In the end though, it didn’t turn out the way they wanted. They lost. They thought of things they could have done better. They got down on themselves, but after a while, you have to dust off and get back out there. You have to prepare for the next event.

As I said, I woke up feeling good. I did have a slightly low blood sugar of 69. I drank some juice to get ready for my run. I also ate a granola bar to get something in my stomach. I then went out for my run.

My training calendar had a 5 miler for today, but I thought I’d take it a little easy and just do 3. I was also getting short on time and 5 miles would’ve put me really behind for work.

I started running. I didn’t listen to music so I could just concentrate on the running. I looked down at my pace occasionally and was shocked to see I was running an 8 1/2 mile pace. I tried slowing myself down at times, but I couldn’t slow down. The cold air was moving in and out of my lungs and I was feeling alive. I was pushing myself up the hills and stayed pretty consistent throughout the 3 miles. When I finished, my average pace was 8’34″/mile.

Man that felt good!

My post run sugar was 89 and before breakfast it was 130. I was hungry by mid morning and checked again. It had come up to 210. I ate some nut mix and by lunch it was down to 81. I had a low around 4 o’clock and when I got it up it stayed good the rest of the evening.

One of the things I’m doing is logging what I eat and when in accordance to my exercising. I do think I haven’t been eating right. Before my last two long runs I know I didn’t eat right to prepare for them. I’ll be trying some different eating things and hopefully I can find something that works.

I had a lot comments, texts and emails last night and today supporting me and wishing me well. I really appreciate it. Thank you!

I got the funk out!

This entry was posted in Diabetes, Health & Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

