I’m tired and discouraged

I’m tired. I’m tired physically and mentally.

I’m discouraged. I’m second guessing myself about being able to run a marathon next month.

This past weekend’s run has been weighing on me and my ability to complete the marathon in my goal time. Also, my body is tired.

I had my Monday RealRyder/TRX class this morning. I felt off my game. I felt slow and weak. I tried to fight through it, but could tell I was not performing my best.

I also fought all day with low blood sugars. It seemed like every time I checked it, it was low. It was low when I woke up, at lunch, immediately after lunch, mid-afternoon, and before dinner. It was only above 100 3 times today and every other time I checked it was below 80.

I did have my appointment with my Endocrinologist today. We made some adjustments to my basal rate on my pump to take care of the lows I’ve been having in the middle of the night and when I wake up. We also decided on some things to do before and while I run to help with the lows during my runs.

I know this is just a funk I’m in, but I’m really discouraged right now. I’ll get through it, but I hope it happens sooner than later.

I have 5 miles on the schedule for tomorrow and I really don’t want to run it. I’m hoping I wake up and feel better. I am going to sleep a little later than normal. Maybe that will help.

This entry was posted in Diabetes, Health & Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I’m tired and discouraged

  1. The Jones says:

    A good rule of thumb for me has always been, “If you’re depressed, check your blood sugar. If it’s low, then you probably have a blood-sugar induced irrational reaction to regular happenstances of life.”

  2. Jessie says:

    You can do it. I’m a little burned out to but some good sleep and maybe an extra rest day will help. You can do it!!! You’ve got to power through the mental game and hopefully your sugars will improve with some changes you talked about. I believe in you. I’m super excited for all you’ve already done!

  3. willbfit says:

    I just want you to know that reading your blog and how you deal with your condition and getting out there and run…well, it’s just inspirational. I will keep you in my prayers that this funky feeling soon passes, and your back to putting up those miles! ~ Maria

  4. steveygaddis says:

    you will get thru this Curt. If you still feel this bad when you wake up….shorten that 5 miler?
    really focus on rest and getting that body built back up. also, maybe cut the trx/ryder workouts in half or easy up on the intensity. just a thought .

  5. I agree with Stevey. When I get in a runner’s funk it is usually my body’s way of telling me I’m doing too much and need more rest. Hope the fog lifts soon!

  6. bke161 says:

    We all get in a funk from time to time, just don’t let it consume you too much. The previous comments were dead on with their advice. Best of luck!

Leave a comment