Getting up early is no fun, but I like it

I love my sleep. I like to sleep in when I can. I also like the way I feel after a good workout or run. If I have to get up at the crack of dawn to get my workout/run in, I’ll do it.

Why? Because I feel so much better after I have a good workout. I feel like I have started the day right and have accomplished so much before I go to work.

Don’t get me wrong. If it’s a rest day, I’ll take advantage and sleep in, but if it’s a workout day, I’m up and at it (it does take me a little while to wake up though). If I miss a workout for whatever reason, I feel terrible.

Today I had a 5:30am workout. I woke up at 4:45 with a low sugar of 53. I ate some GU gel to raise it and get ready for my workout. I got dressed and went to class. I check before class and it had only risen to 56. I knew the GU would kick in soon, so I got on the bike to start the class. I was conscious about how I felt to make sure I didn’t stay low. I was feeling good and had a great RealRyder workout. We did some seated sprints, standing sprints, and high resistance rolling hill sprints for the first 30 minutes.

We moved to TRX and I checked my sugar. It had come up to 97. For the TRX portion, it was a leg day. With the TRX straps, we started out by doing one legged reverse squats with a small Bender Ball tucked under our free leg to squeeze that hamstring. We then did a “twisting” squat dropping our leg under the base leg and pulling it back up across the body. This was also done with the Bender Ball squeezed with the free leg. After that, we did single leg squats also with the ball. For each exercise we alternated legs. We used the Pilates springs to do regular squats and then we did inverted leg presses and curls with the TRX straps. Those are tough with one foot in the strap and both legs in air. I was dripping with sweat. We did two rounds of those exercises. It was a really good workout and although I was tired and worn out, I felt awesome!

My sugar after TRX was 109. I had 1 mile on my training calendar today, but decided I would do a little more since my last few runs I had come up shorter than planned. I went home and ran on the treadmill for 2 miles. Not a whole lot more, but more nonetheless. I ran my 2 miles at an average pace of 9’30″/mile. My sugar after running was 76.

I feel really good after a workout, but feel even better when my sugars act right.

My sugars throughout the day were pretty good, but I did have a high mid morning of 270. I think that was a rebound from the low earlier in the morning and a carb counting mistake for breakfast. It came down to 160 before lunch and was 94 before dinner.

I felt great all day and I’m glad to get back on my workout class schedule. Getting up early has hit me and I’m getting tired. I have another early morning with a 5 miler on the schedule. Good night!

This entry was posted in Diabetes, Health & Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

