The Fresh 20

I received an email from –>Groupon<– about a deal for the Fresh 20. It’s a weekly meal plan that makes 5 healthy meals with 20 ingredients. Every Friday, The Fresh 20 gives you a meal plan for the upcoming week. The plan includes a shopping list of 20 ingredients, estimated costs, simple recipes, and ideas for leftovers. They have choices to choose from for particular diets like meat, vegetarian, and gluten-free.

It’s a great way to know what you’re having to eat with no ingredients to throw out after they’ve been sitting in the fridge for weeks. Each meal feeds a family four, so there is plenty of food and if you don’t have a family that size, you have food to last through the weekend and for lunch.

This was our first week to use it and today was our first meal from it. We chose the vegetarian plan and today’s meal was Cauliflower and Chard Saute’. It used cauliflower, Swiss chard, black eyed peas, onions, garlic, a few spices and brown rice. It was delicious! I tried to take a picture, but it wasn’t very appealing to the eye. There is a carrot & ginger soup and a couple Asian dishes this week that sound really good.

If you’re having trouble with finding a way to eat healthy or find yourself wasting food you never cook, this is a great program that last all year and gives you healthy meals and ideas for leftovers. The recipes are pretty simple, but do require prep work since you are using fresh ingredients. You can purchase the Fresh 20 plan for 50% off using the link above with your Groupon account. Happy eating!

Before we cooked dinner, I ran my streak mile. I was supposed to run 5 miles today and I was also supposed to have a 6am class this morning. I forgot to set my alarm and over slept. I was pretty bummed about missing class and it was too late to run before work. At least I was able to get my mile in. I’ll try to get my 5 miles in tomorrow after my 5:30am workout class. I’ll be glad to get back on my workout schedule from the long weekend.

This entry was posted in Diabetes, Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Fresh 20

  1. It sounds like you’re good to go for the year, but if you run out of meal ideas, Mark Bittman is a runner and chef who also has delicious and healthy recipes! Only managed 3 miles today (unusually cold here in Cali and I’m a weather wimp), but hope you got your 5 in!

  2. Thanks, I’ll have to check him out. Does he have a blog? I only did 2 this morning, but a 5 miler scheduled for tomorrow with no workout class, so no excuses. 🙂 It is cold and rainy in MS.

  3. Pingback: A somewhat rest day | blood, sweat and…

Leave a Reply

