Heavy heart, tight legs

My best friend’s dad suddenly passed away yesterday afternoon from a heart attack. I’ve been thinking about him and his mother since I found out the news.

We all know that our time here on earth can end at any moment, and we need to make sure we let the people in our life know how much we love them.

Sometimes we take life for granted. We’ll do things tomorrow or call someone back in a little while. I procrastinate on a lot of things. I need to change that. We all need to seize the day. We need to do the things we need to do now and not wait to do it later.

That goes also for our health. If you want to make a change or try new things, do it and do it now. Don’t wait. When we wait, the urgency goes away and we kind of forget about it or we wish we had done it.

Call your parents, hug your kids, tell your friends hello, go for that run and do it today.

After a long day at work, I ran my run late this evening. My legs were tight, but as I kept running, they loosened up and felt pretty good. I ended up running a little over 2 miles.

Life is like a tight legged run. It’s slow and painful at first, but as you get moving and work through the pain, things open up and you feel better.

Carpe diem.

This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Heavy heart, tight legs

  1. Sorry to hear about your best friend’s dad. Your post is right on!

  2. Becky Conley says:

    Gary and I are thankful that you and Karebear and now J have come into our lives!

  3. We’re thankful for ya’ll too!

  4. Pingback: 100 days of running | blood, sweat and…

Leave a Reply

