Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

2012 was a great year for me. Running wise, I completed my 1st full marathon in Madrid, Spain while raising money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, I ran my 1st half marathon in Chicago, IL, I shaved 20 minutes off my Chicago time for a new Half PR 4 months later, started a running blog, and I completed a holiday running streak from Thanksgiving to New Year’s (44 days).

Also in 2012, I celebrated my 10th anniversary of marriage with my beautiful Karebear. Her healthy lifestyle has made me a better man and I would not be where I am today as a runner without her help. I feel that in 2012 I became the healthiest and fittest I have ever been in my 34 years of existance.

I look to 2013 to be a nice addition to 2012. I’m already signed up for another full marathon and I have 2 halves on the calendar already. The first is this weekend. I plan to run atleast 6 half marathon distances in 2013. Other goals of mine are to run a sub 2 hour half and a sub 5 hour full. I think both of those are totally doable.

I’m planning on continuing running the streak. I fought through bronchitis towards the end to continue, so I think I’ll see how long I can go. It makes me get out there and do something even if it’s only for a few minutes.

Remember, if you making resolutions, make sure you make them achievable and specific. I personally don’t care for resolutions and prefer goals. Also, try and make 12 monthly goals. That way you can have success throughout the year and keep challenging yourself.

I hope everyone had a safe and fun celebration last night and were able to get out there today a start the year off right.

I’m excited for the new year and what’s to come!

This entry was posted in Diabetes, Health & Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

