Training doesn’t stop for the holidays

This is a two day post. I had some issues yesterday with my internet connectivity.

Christmas Eve I had my 5 mile run for my half training. I was staying at my parents and have never run in my hometown. I mapped out a plan in my head the night before. My family was doing Christmas early on Christmas Eve, so I woke up at 6am to get my run in before we opened presents.

When I woke up and before I started, my sugar was 141. As I was running, I realized I needed to a lot further than what I had mapped out in my head. I’m from a small town and could probably run all the way across it in 5 miles. My parent’s live on the outskirts and I ran towards downtown. Once I got downtown, I wasn’t even to the halfway point. I just decided to run. I ran by my best friends childhood home, an old babysitter house and other childhood places. Since I hadn’t ever ran in my hometown, it was fun to kind of relive some childhood memories while I was out there. I made pretty good time. I finished in 44:40 at an average pace of 8’55″/mile. My post run sugar was 106.

My sugars throughout the day, Christmas Eve, were excellent except for a low before lunch. I bounced back and was good for the rest of the day.

Today was the annual Christmas Mile run. About six years ago, one of my cousins decided to run a mile on Christmas morning and make it a tradition. Every year has brought new runners and we get a little excited about as Christmas draws closer.

We planned on meeting at 7:30 this morning to start our run. About 5am a storm came through and brought some cold weather with it. When we met a 7:30, it was just a light mist, but more rain was on it’s way. Nine family members joined in on the “fun” this morning (1 is taking the pic).

20121225-235931.jpg

My prerun sugar was 152. With all the happenings of Christmas, I didn’t keep up with all my blood sugar testing results. I checked frequently, but just didn’t make notes. From what I remember, everything seemed great.

I hope those of you who are training out there got your runs in.

Do any of you have running traditions with family?

This entry was posted in Diabetes, Health & Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

