Motivation. Where is it?

I’m losing my motivation. I’m not sure why. I’m tired. I don’t want to get up. Is this normal?

For one thing, I couldn’t get into a class this morning, so I slept later than normal. Karebear was teaching pilates and I needed to watch and get J ready. I didn’t have time to run my mile.

I cared, but I didn’t care that I didn’t get my mile in. I knew I’d be able to run this evening, even though we had dinner plans. I knew I’d be rushed to get it in.

Where’s the spark? Why have I lost motivation?

I think one reason is I’m traing alone. I don’t have a group of friends that run where I live. Maybe I should look into a running group. It’s hard to do it alone. I think I like my classes so much and can get up for them is because someone is counting on me to be there.

I did run my mile this evening. I ran it hard. It felt good once I was out there. I ran my mile in 7:54. I like to run. I like the way I feel during and afterwards. It’s just hard for me to get out there.

My sugars were much better today. All my readings were in the target range with just a low of 57 before the end of the work day.

Anyone else going through a funk? Any ideas how to get out of it?

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Motivation. Where is it?

  1. michads says:

    Been there. Joining a running group really helps. I also use “Runkeeper” to help keep me motivated. I also like to plan out a race schedule so I have a “goal”. Hoo luck and run safe! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the read and advice. I’m currently training for a half in Jan and have some races planned out for next year. I’m doing the Runner’s World holiday streak right now. It’s the mile a day that’s getting so hard.

      I’m going to look into some running groups today.

  2. Jenny says:

    I hear ya on the tired part, I work at a school and the last 2 weeks before Christmas break are always downright crappy. The kids lose motivation and they are crazy ( I work with behavior kids BTW). Its so hard to wake up in the mornings and even harder to stay up past 9pm… But I am still trucking! Through headaches, tiredness and through the “I just don’t want to do ANYTHINGS”. My workouts are what give me that stress relief, and the me time that I so desperately need with my busy life.
    You just have to remember that you started this for a reason, and if its important to you, you will make time regardless of your circumstances=)
    I know the feeling of being rushed too, I had a play to attend tonight…and I came home a little early from work and got in a super quick run before I even picked up my kid from his dayhome! It was the only way!!!
    Hopefully you find your motivation soon!! And possibly a run group πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

