Where there’s a will, there’s a way

I forgot to set my alarm this morning and overslept for my run. I didn’t get to sleep until after midnight again from from my workout and run. My morning routine when I wake up is to check my emails, check Facebook & Twitter and play a few word games on my phone to get my brain going. While I was checking fb, my old trainer had a quote on her wall talking about saying “I will” rather than “I’ll try” or “I’ll think”. Then, I scrolled down my feed a little more and Tim, my TRX trainer, had something on is wall saying something about not saying “I can’t” and saying “I will” and having a positive attitude. Fit for a year had this on his blog this morning: With satisfaction.

All those quotes really hit home today. I HAVE to get up early in the morning to do my runs. It’s the only time I know I have. My day can have all kinds of things come up and fill my schedule. If I take care of business before my day starts, I won’t be so pressed to get my run in, I’ll be able to get to bed and I’ll be able to wake up in time for my run.

So I’m making a commitment today. I WILL get up and run in the mornings. It will make my evenings less stressful and everything will get done in a timely manner.

Since I didn’t get up this morning, I ran this evening. I had another full schedule, so I was pressed for time. I checked my sugar before my run (81) and ate a granola bar. I had been running just a mile or a little more for the last 4  runs, so I set my goal at 2.5 miles. I ran pushing our son in the stroller for about a mile and a half until my wife met me and took him off my hands.

It was a tough run. My legs were tight and sore from the workout yesterday. It was also cold and pushing a stroller is not one of my favorite things. The last mile was a little better without the stroller.

After my run, I checked my sugar again. It was 51 and I drank some juice. I was surprised how low it was, but I guess I exerted myself more pushing the stroller. I got ready to go out and meet some friends for dinner and checked again (88), ate another granola bar and bolused for the carbs. We went out for pizza and before I ate my sugar was 151.

I WILL see you in the morning! Goodnight…

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

