Thanksgiving day

So I woke up this morning again with a low of 56. (Carb counting mistake last night or a basal tweak need?) With a full schedule this morning of family and feasting, I needed to get my sugar up and a run in quickly. I probably should have gotten up earlier, but when the M-I-L (mother in-law) can watch the kid, you let her. 🙂 I drank some OJ and checked a few minutes later. Unfortunately, it was not getting any higher. I drank somemore juice and ate a banana because I needed to get going.

Runner’s World magazine has a Holiday challenge to run at least 1 mile everyday from Thanksgiving until New Years. My wife and I thought it would be good to do this and spend some time together. We had a nice easy run at just over 2 miles. Post sugar run was 118. I was concerned about my sugar because it wasn’t back to normal before we started, but luckly everything was fine. I wouldn’t have done that, but as I mentioned before, I had a full morning schedule.

After our run we had one our Thanksgiving traditions – Getting down the M-I-L’s Christmas decorations. You might be thinking, what’s the big deal about that? Well, M-I-L loves Christmas and decorates the entire house. She’s not the extreme crazy lady with Santa and Snowman everywhere. She does it classly with a lot of decorations. It’s always funny to hear JJ (my father in-law) about the boxes upon boxes of decorations. “Are we at the halfway point yet?” is the question that keeps getting asked throughout the process. We’ve had friends of theirs come over and help get them out of the attic, but I’ve realized they never help the following year. Hmmmm

After literally hundreds of boxes and about an hour later, it was time for a quick breakfast before our 11:00 Thanksgiving lunch. I ate an Eggo waffle with peanut butter on it. An hour and a half later was lunch and my sugar was 228. Not surprising since I had the PB not that long ago. I bolused for lunch and the high and ate. Mid afternoon I checked again and it was a perfect 99. It feels good when your sugars come out like they’re supposed to, especially after a day of overeating.

I’m thankful for family, that I’m able to spend time with them, and that we get along so well! I hope all of you had a great day too!

Feel free to post here or email me at bloodsweatand@ymail.com if to have any questions or comments.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

