A cool run and Thanks

From my great workout last night, I woke up at 5am with a low sugar of 56. I drank some juice and waited for it to rise. I had my alarm set for 5:30 anyway to get a run in before my wife had to go to her Pilates class. After waiting 20 minutes, I checked again. It read 77 and I was good to go. I scarfed a half of a Grand’s biscuit down and off I went.

It was a crisp, cool 46 degree morning and the sun was just coming up as I started my run. I love running in cool/cold weather. We don’t get much of it here in the south, so I enjoy it when I can. I put my Nike+ in my pocket so I could focus on just being outside and not worry about my time. When I finished my 2.5 mile run, I checked my sugar again. It was 147. I was a little surprised it was that high, but I do sometimes spike(rise) after exercising (I’m hoping to find a trend with this blog).

I traveled to Louisiana today to spend Thanksgiving with family. My parents had a pre-Thanksgiving celebration tonight and we spent some time with my sister, two of my brothers and their families. After dinner we went around the table and mentioned a few things we were thankful for. When my turn came around, I stated I was thankful for my family, wife and son. I also said I was thankful for a healthy body that I could take care of. Even though being a diabetic can be challenging and frustrating, I’m thankful that I have a working body that I can use to run and exercise. There are many people out there that don’t have that luxury. I’m thankful my disease is manageable and not dibilitating.

Feel free to post here or email me at bloodsweatand@ymail.com if you have any questions or comments.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

